Eurovision Song Contest 2009 Recap (Final points)

Here is a recap of Eurovision 2009 final showing short clips of all songs, with their points (including jury votes)

For the first time, voting in the final was split between televoting and panels of musical experts, in an attempt to reduce predictable and neighbourly voting (not that the attempt was very successful!).

A total of 42 countries voted on the 25 songs, with Norway scoring a record 387 points. The previous biggest points haul was scored by Finland’s Lordi with Hard Rock Hallelujah, when the contest was held in Greece in 2006.

An interesting fact is that votes that came from the winning country, Norway, were only the points that jury assigned to the contestants because there was a technical mistake from the local Norwegian telephone operator so telephone and SMS votes could not be counted.

Similarly, Hungary had a technical problem with televotes so only jury and SMS voting were used.


Norway got maximum 12 points from 16 countries: Belarus, Denmark, Estonia, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Israel, Latvia, Lithuania, Netherlands, Poland, Russia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Ukraine
Azerbaijan, Belgium, FYR Macedonia, France, Switzerland and United Kingdom gave 12 points to Turkey.
Bosnia and Herzegovina received the maximum points from Croatia, Montenegro and Serbia. Greece from Albania, Bulgaria and Cyprus. Iceland from Ireland, Malta and Norway.
Estonia from Finland and Slovakia, Moldova from Portugal and Romania.
The following countries got 12 points only from each other: Armenia and Czech Republic, Azerbaijan and Turkey, Croatia and  Bosnia and Herzegovina, Romania and Moldova, Russia and  Armenia, Spain and Andorra and United Kingdom and Greece.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Social profiles